3. The Old Fail/Fernandez Building (1882)

1154 E. Madison Street
The architect for the original parts of the Border Brick style building was J.N. Preston and Son. In 1912 when the County vacated the old jail, two Spanish merchant brothers, Jose and Joaquin Fernandez, bought the structure. The Fernandez brothers converted the old jail and courtyard area into a store and two living quarters. They heightened the old wall and added doors and windows.