6. Alonso Building (1877)


510-514 E. St. Charles Street
Built for Manuel Alonso, who came to Brownsville from Santander, Spain, it was originally a dry goods store called “Los Dos Cañones” (the two canons).Like many store buildings during that period, the second floor served as the family’s quarters. The second floor gallery and iron wrought railing are reminiscent of French Creole architecture. In 1995, the Gorgas Science Foundation purchased and restored the building. It was then purchased and donated to the Brownsville Historical Association in 2010.